Minute of the ANNUAL PARISH MEETING of IRTHINGTON PARISH COUNCIL held on 1st April 2009 at 7.30 pm at Newtown Village Hall

PRESENT:

Councillors J. Harris (in the Chair), M. Ridley, R. Bloxham, D. Rutherford, M. Ogden, C. Guy, G. Beck, and I. Gibson

IN ATTENDANCE – The Clerk.

Councillor Mrs.M. Bowman, Carlisle City Council 1 member of the public

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE – Councillors McAleese and Moscrop
Councillor John Mallinson, Cumbria County Council
Councillor James Bainbridge, Carlisle City Council

1 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL PARISH MEETING – Approved.

2 CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

Chairman J. Harris gave a report on the activities of the Council over the past year.

Again, much of the year had been dominated by the planning application for the development proposals of Carlisle Airport. This is as it should be, because whatever the long term outcome the nature of this parish will change forever.

Matters developing from the approval of a revised application for the Airport caused division among Council members which eventually led to the resignation of Councillor Ray Milburn. The Parish Council were fortunate to have four strong candidates for cooption and recently welcomed Ian Gibson. Councillor Milburn was thanked for his period of service.

Despite a strong campaign by villagers including involvement from the Parish Council, the full-time Post Office service in Irthington was lost and replaced with a much poorer "outreach" service.

The Parish Council had taken part in the Brampton Asset Review aimed at developing a "health campus" at an undecided site in Brampton. To date, no decision has been announced, and the whole process seems to have become somewhat dormant.

The introduction by the County Council of the Highway Steward Scheme for minor maintenance of the rural road network had been a positive development during the last year.

Congratulations to Newtown with Whiteflatt in the Cumbria in Bloom competition. This was a great achievement and hoped they could do as well this year.

The Chairman thanked the Clerk and his fellow Councillors for their support and hard work throughout the year in particular Vice-Chairman M. Ogden.

3	OTHER RELEVANT BUSINESS

None.

The meeting closed at 7.35pm.